Fire & Emergency Services

Denton_County_ESD_1_Station_514Located in Denton County (part of the Dallas-Ft. Worth Metroplex), the DCESD1 operates out of three fire stations (Station 511, Station 513, and Station 514) and is a combination department that provides services to >42,000 residents within 65 square miles. The DCESD1 service area includes:

  • Argyle
  • Bartonville
  • Copper Canyon
  • Corral City
  • Northlake 
  • Surrounding areas of Denton County

Additionally, the DCESD1 has contracted response areas with the City of Denton and maintains mutual and automatic aid agreements with Flower Mound Fire Department, Roanoke Fire Department, and Justin Community Volunteer Fire Department.


The Denton County Emergency Services District #1 (DCESD1) began as Argyle Volunteer Fire District (AVFD) in 1963 and was created by a group of local citizens after a house fire occurred in the community and no formal fire mitigation strategies were in place. In 2006, citizens voted and approved the creation of the DCESD1 to provide funding stability. The DCESD1 is governed by a Board of five Commissioners and is primarily funded from ad valorem taxes.

Burn Ban Information

Visit the Denton County Controlled Burn website to find out if a burn ban is in effect.

Emergency NotificationCitizen_Alert_Sign_Up

Visit the Everbridge Emergency Notification System for citizen alerts.